Undergraduate Student Seeking Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sparagus

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new to this whole deal, but I have been reading a bit of the advice to other people and I was wondering if anyone could give me a little advice as well.

I am a student at UW-Madison and am doing undergraduate research. I worked with a psychologist in Milwaukee over the summer with her research and attending group sessions. I would like to take a year off before grad school and just work in research and have time to focus on applying to grad school. Is this a rediculous idea?? I've heard that most schools don't accept you the first time you apply. Is this true? I would like to go get my PsyD degree. Is the Chicago School of Professional Psychology a good option? How is it viewed in the professional world of psychology.

Thanks for all of the help.

Members don't see this ad.

Alot of people take a year off....many of the grad students that I work with did. As for not getting in your first try...well I guess it depends on your GPA, GREs, etc. But to say that no one gets in first try is kinda ridiculous...otherwise why would students bother wasting their money and effort applying.

I am new to this whole deal, but I have been reading a bit of the advice to other people and I was wondering if anyone could give me a little advice as well.

Welcome :)

I would like to take a year off before grad school and just work in research and have time to focus on applying to grad school.

Excellent idea - I did it and so many others did too...

I've heard that most schools don't accept you the first time you apply.

Your acceptance is based on your credentials and your match with faculty.... what you heard is like saying you can't get pregnant the first time ;)