Unique Recommendation Letters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bootycombustion14

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I plan to get my physiological psychology professor, biochem/clinical chem professor, and research methods in psychology as three science recommendation letters (just in case either physiological psychology or research methods in psychology get rejected as a science). Should I plan to get a physics professor recommendation letter just in case both psych courses get bounced as non-science?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not an admissions expert, but my advice would be to also get the physics recommendation. In my experience from applying, some schools are much more stringent about what counts as non-science, and you don't want to be scrambling at the last minute to get another non-science letter. The worst that can happen is you don't use the letter. ***If your school has a committee letter, you might be fine without it. However, there were less than a handful of schools that I applied to that did not accept committee letters and wanted 2-3 non-science. Short answer: I would plan to get it.

Reactions: 1 users
I would plan to get the physics one just in case but send your strongest ones first and then if programs have an issue with it, then they can let you know.

When I applied (12 years ago) I had no problem with programs accepting my cognitive neuroscience professor's LOR as a science LOR. I don't think anybody even mentioned it. The class was in my university's psychology department and had a PSYC course abbreviation.