Unrealistic but still my dream - a hard dose of reality requested

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ssnuallls

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I graduated with a 2.3 cGPA (unfortunately, you read that correctly) this past June from a top 10 private research university in Biological Sciences. I have been a lurker in this forum for a while.

I thought the "name brand" of my school would get land me a job, and that I would be happy. I was initially content with just working at a job that was "promised to me upon graduation" in a biotech company. This job was offered after a few years of me interning there and getting to know the higher-ups. I figured since my foot was in the door, I could just slack off all of undergrad and climb the corporate ladder after graduation.

As a result, I developed a "bare-minimum" approach that now disgusts me. I believe my approach to my undergraduate years to be the worst mistake of my life thus far. Thankfully, I have since fixed this lazy approach to life, as seeing life pass before me and being stagnant without improvement has left a terrible impression on me. What kind of person am I if I don't want to constantly find the best life for myself?

I still want to dream big and one day attend medical school. I understand that I will need to distance myself from my previous mistakes, and am prepared to face the long, grueling years ahead of GPA redemption. I understand that I will need to look at and fix the root cause of the problem - my motivation and study habits. I understand that this dream does not make any financial sense, though I still have the support of relatives for this goal. They too want the best for me, and I am immensely thankful for that.