UPenn Special Science student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zambonia515

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm looking to meet other UPenn special science students who are starting this summer or in the fall. I'm a 25-year old non-traditional student with an MPH and hospital administration background. The decision to return to medical school was largely a personal one in the midst of such a haywire career thus far. I was pre-med at Cornell but quit the route after a family tragedy.

I feel pretty alone in making this decision right now. Would love to meet other post-baccs who feel the same, and are relocating to a city they've never lived in.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi. I'm starting at Penn in the fall in the Pre-Health program, not Special Science. I am 26 years old and I graduated with a degree in Theatre from a small Liberal Arts college. I am currently finishing up my second year teaching English in the Peace Corps in Bulgaria. I'm coming back to the US in two months, then moving to Philly sometime in August (...I guess...) whenever I find an apartment.

Medicine is a completely new career for me and I haven't studied science since high school, so it's going to be a real big challenge for me. I also have never lived in Philly.

Hi! Thanks for posting your story. Sounds like you've done a lot of exciting work. I always envy people who have gone abroad. My hope is to enlist in the Navy during my medical schooling partly so I get the chance to travel, but mostly so that my medical education will be free.

I heard the post-bacc program at UPenn is huge, so we shouldn't feel so alone once we get there.

Members don't see this ad :)
I hope so! Are you starting in the summer or fall?

Welcome to you all!!!!

Take Histology this fall...I'll be TA-ing...it's alot of fun

Zambonia,

i am considering the Navy, too. I will be attending Drexel this fall.