US allopathic senior NON-citizen for IM in NY

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctorinthesky

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all

I'm an international student at a US allopathic medical school so I'm in a bit of a weird situation.

My boyfriend got placed in Manhattan so I'm looking to match into internal medicine in NY (my med school is not in NY but I did go to undergrad on Long Island).

I REALLY would like an H1B visa considering the current political climate, I'd like my immigration status to be much less volatile than the J1 visa allows. I am also seriously considering fellowship, not sure which one yet.

So considering all this, my first choices are Icahn MSSM, Montefiore and Zucker... which is a pretty short list.

I've heard there are certain community programs to 100% avoid, and some that are pretty good.
Could you all please give me your opinions on other programs that you consider strong programs? And of course, which programs to avoid like the plague?
Also... how likely am I to procure an H1B this year?

I really appreciate your opinions! This year will be weird with virtual interviews and I'd really like a better idea of what programs are going to be like. Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I would avoid doing IM residency in NYC unless you have to be there for personal reasons:
1) The COL is pretty much the highest in the country with triple taxation (federal, NY state, and NYC) and you only get paid slightly more than programs in average COL parts of the country so financially residents there usually a lot worse off unless they have another source of income like a SO in a higher-paying job.