Position Wanted US citizen, working as physician in Neurology in UK, hoping to reunite with family in USA, seeking PGY1 residency in Neurology or Internal Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

illgetthere

Reaction score
Greetings from London. I have been feeling invisible for some time now, so here I am trying to reach out into the void. I am a US citizen, and for 11 years, I have been excluded from residency selection in the US mainly because of my age. I currently work as a physician in the UK.

My age, and years of clinical experience in another country make me a non-traditional applicant, My age has no bearing on my capabilities. I have clocked in more service hours and nights at my hospital than any other doctor. I am now 50 years old but I have a tremendous capacity for hard work. Yet many programs exclude me from applying because of my year of graduation. This is overt ageism. I have been told by residency advisors that most residency directors will not consider me “trainable”. I have trained in the subspecialty of stroke medicine since 2017, and also worked as a locum emergency medicine doctor for many years before that. There is still much for me to learn in the field of neurology and internal medicine, and as evidenced from my recent training, I can indeed be trained.