USC vs NYU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mysteree

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, Ok I got a minimal amount of time within which to make this decision. Help!!!! I've just been accepted to USC, :D now I don't know where to go, I'm leaning towards USC. I'd be open to hear existing students or other perspectives feedback. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Mysteree said:
Hi guys, Ok I got a minimal amount of time within which to make this decision. Help!!!! I've just been accepted to USC, :D now I don't know where to go, I'm leaning towards USC. I'd be open to hear existing students or other perspectives feedback. Thanks!

I am a 3rd year student and here is whats going on. You have to be self motivated to be in the PBL program. Also during my interview, they told us that we do a procedure in the lab and right away we do the proceudre on the patient. This is total BS, I have not done a root canal for over a year, even though our preclinical was last Spring. Furthermore, we are having a hard time getting patients so that we can graduate because of the prices the school charges ($50 for a cleaning plus 3 hrs of wait time). Almost half (60) of the 2006 class is not going to graduate on time (will finish by the end of August which means an additional $3000). Furthermore, in addition to the $65000 you pay for tuition, there are supplies you have to buy in addition (curing lights$300, articulators ($350), books ($400/semester). Finally, some students end up paying for their patients work in order to graduate! Honestly, I do not know much about NYU even though I interviewed and got accepted there 3 years ago. I picked USC because of location (family, wife). Also, their facilites are good (newer vs. NYU) the USC school has a good reputation because of the previous traditional program, not PBL. I wish I could tell you more about NYU but again I do not know much.