Useful Laboratory Knowledge for Dental School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smolovemily

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I had originally posted this in the pre-dental forum, but someone suggested that I move it here.

I am a pre-dental student planning to apply for the upcoming 2018 cycle. I work full time in a full service dental lab as an implant tech. I have very good working knowledge of CAD/CAM softwares and have designed multiple full arch cases with great success. In my current position, I select and place the proper lab analog, add soft tissue to the impression, help out with designing when needed, adjust/prep abutments, cement screw retained cases, fabricate seating jigs and verification jigs, apply gum composite to pmma provisionals, and do a final QC of implant cases before they leave the lab. I have also helped with staining and glazing, adjusting contacts and occlusion, and have waxed and pressed e.max crowns in the past. All of my current lab experience has been focused on fixed rather than removable restorations.

Sometimes I have down time between my duties, and I luckily have the freedom to shadow other departments and learn something new. My question is: what are the most important lab techniques that you used in dental school? Model work? Denture set ups? Diagnostic wax-ups? Just getting better with a hand piece? Prepping old models?

What lab techniques are you using now as a practicing dentist?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Learn to mount casts, how to use facebow to mount, die trimming, setting denture teeth, making wax rims, learn how to make good stents and work with acyrlic...those are most important skills

Reactions: 2 users
Learn to mount casts, how to use facebow to mount, die trimming, setting denture teeth, making wax rims, learn how to make good stents and work with acyrlic...those are most important skills