Using 2 benzos for alcohol withdrawal

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kuvan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a pharmacist working at a psych hospital. Just wondering why some of the docs at my hospital use chlordiazepoxide and oxazepam for the first dose for some patients. One doc ordered oxazepam 60 mg and chlordiazepoxide 50 mg X 1. Recently I had orders for oxazepam 30 mg and chlordiazepoxide 25 mg X 1. When I asked, the charge nurse told me the patient scored 25 on CIWA-Ar. My question is, what's the reason behind the combo? Oxazepam has a slower onset vs chlordiazepoxide and a shorter duration vs chlordiazepoxide. Why not just use chlordiazepoxide monotherapy? :unsure:

Members don't see this ad.

Doctor #1: I think a short-acting mixed with a long-acting benzo for alcohol detox sounds good to me. Serax with Librium. Brilliant!

Doctor #2: Never seen Serax with Librium before. Must be the culture at this place. Ok, makes some sense, I'll do it too.

Doctor #3: I see that two doctors have prescribed Serax with Librium for alcohol detox. Must be the culture here. Why not.

Doctor #4: Hmm, the nurse told me other doctors prescribed Serax with Librium for alcohol detox. Must be the culture here. Ok

Rinse and repeat...

You can just use Librium or Valium mono is fine.

Last edited:
Reactions: 8 users
Regularly use Librium monotherapy, especially if we're doing a taper. Also starting to use gabapentin tapers more consistently to avoid unnecessary benzos on non-severe withdrawal patients.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Oxazepam is good when you are dealing with bad livers because it lacks active metabolites and is easily conjugated. Mixing it with Librium makes zero sense and is like chewing sugar free gum while drinking a soda.

Reactions: 2 users