SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

USMLE Step 2 CS for DO applicants?

Discussion in 'Step II' started by whitecoat, Apr 9, 2007.

1. whitecoat

whitecoat Member 7+ Year Member

May 17, 2003
    Hi,
    I'm a third year student and currently in the process of applying for residency. Could you please let me know if I need USMLE step 2 CS in addition to Comlex PE in order to apply for allopathic match? Thank you for your reply!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. DOctorJay

DOctorJay 10+ Year Member

May 8, 2004
    from what I have heard you DO NOT need the CS, actually you don't NEED any of the USMLE exams but it may help at some programs.

4. FutureSoxDoc

FutureSoxDoc New Member 10+ Year Member

May 11, 2005
    To apply for the allopathic match, the answer is no. I matched allo IM without the USMLE CS.

5. JunkintheTrunk

JunkintheTrunk Blondes are smrt 7+ Year Member

Oct 29, 2003
    The Mitten
    i'm wondering the exact same thing. i'm planning on doing both the allo and osteopathic matches for general surgery...i'm just going to email all the programs to see if they need it. that would be such a load off if i don't need it...i already paid but haven't scheduled it...can i refund my $ still? :rolleyes: :oops:

6. NeuroDocDO

NeuroDocDO 7+ Year Member

Feb 22, 2007
    South Jersey
    you only need to take the USMLE 2CS if you plan on taking USMLE step 3, otherwise it is not really necessary. I ended up taking it as I am planning to sit for USMLE step 3 and in order to register for the exam you had to have passed USMLE steps 1, 2ck, and 2cs.

later.

7. whitecoat

whitecoat Member 7+ Year Member

May 17, 2003