pilottodoctor

10+ Year Member
Mar 25, 2009
Status
Medical Student
hello everyone, just thought let eveyone know about my experience. i got my result for step1 last week and i passed i got 99% with 3 digit scoe of 270, and materials that i used were kaplan anatomy video and first aid 2009 and goljan path, and medschool notes for micro and other subjects. along with study material i also used uw qbank, and there self assesment forms. i used form1 from nbme which i dont recomend so depressing ahahahah, and i was told that those questions 5-10 year old retired questions which dont make sense at all. Step1 exam itself was not to bad for me i felt that i was not well prepeared till the day of exam. I had 2 months to study since i am from carribean med school, and i studied for 5-6 hours a day everyday and do qbank (uw) every night for topic that i use to cover, das about it, and now i will be going for my first clinical rotations in september :thumbup:. good luck to everyone

rahulb

nutritional facelift
10+ Year Member
Mar 17, 2007
Status
Medical Student
post your score report

McGillGrad

Building Mind and Body
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Dec 21, 2002
Visit site
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Congrats on the score. The only issue that you should be worried about is your step 2 score. If you do not manage to score a 99 on step 2, then you will lose out on many residency spots because it conflicts with your step 1.

In other words, you will be seen as the streotypical IMG who can memorize facts but cannot apply knowledge. And since medicine = applied knowledge, you are out of luck.

OP
P

pilottodoctor

10+ Year Member
Mar 25, 2009
Status
Medical Student
Congrats on the score. The only issue that you should be worried about is your step 2 score. If you do not manage to score a 99 on step 2, then you will lose out on many residency spots because it conflicts with your step 1.