Usmle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Daja

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I am a medical student in Germany and am thinking about taking the USMLE. Can you tell me if it is the same exam that the American students take and after how many years do you take each step?
Also I would like to know how much time of studying is necessary, do you study with old exams, textbooks, in groups/alone?

I am thankful for any tips, since I know not much about the test itself yet!

Thanks,
Julia

P.S.: I am in my 3rd year of studying (clinical studies)

Members don't see this ad.

Yes it is the same test.

Step 1 - US students take after the 2nd year covering the "basic sciences".

Sterp 2 - US students take in their fourth year covering the basics of diagnosis and treatment.

step 3 - taken some time in residency covers management of patients (from what I have heard).

That is how it is done in the US. Since you are finishing up your third year, you could take step 1 and step 2 whenever you want. If you are seriously interested about coming to the US, study incredibly hard for them. There is a whole industry or review books and practice questions available. No there are no old tests out there. Studying in a group might be mildly helpful, but it basically comes down to being willing to spend 12-15 hours a day for 3-4 weeks memorizing "the little things" in order to do well.

The book "First Aid for USMLE Step 1" has lots of good advice for non-US medical students -- I would definitely suggest taking a look at it.

Members don't see this ad :)
thank you all for the information!
I have stupidly posted in two forums, but now I know better what I am looking at!

Does the First Aid have to be a newer version?