UVA vs. USF

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UVA or USF?

• UVA

Votes: 23 60.5%
  • USF

Votes: 15 39.5%

• Total voters

yaoigirl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am having a hard time in deciding between these two schools and I would appreciate some feedback from others. Some background about me is I’m a Florida resident so all my family is in Florida and it would be nice to be closer to them. I am not exactly sure what specialty I’m interested in but I am considering some competitive ones. I have family in the optical field that would like for me to do ophthalmology but I’m not 100% sure I want to go that route. I would also like to do my residency in Florida and practice medicine in Florida preferably. If anyone has any additional information that could help with this decision I would greatly appreciate it.

University of Viriginia (40k per year)

Pros:

1. 1.5 preclinical year

2. Better research opportunities

3. Better reputation

4. Staff and students seem really nice and happy

5. Main hospital is located near the school

6. Received significant scholarship that reduced cost comparable to state school cost

Cons:

1. Cold weather (I really hate cold weather)

2. Required away rotations in rural area ( I have cats that I do not feel comfortable leaving for weeks on end by themselves or with possible friends that I might make while in school)

3. Heard during away rotations the living situation isn’t pleasant. ( if current students could comment on if this is true or not I would appreciate it)

4. Smaller city (not really a big deal but also not great)

5. First years do not get parking permits ( not a fan of walking or catching public bus to school)

6. Did not get that feeling of perfect fit here

7. Farther from family

University of South Florida (35k per year)

Pros:

1. Warm weather

2. Familiar with city (went to undergrad here)