VERY Important Question Regarding UoP Admissions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mrxle3

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. I just called UoP admissions and spoke to Janelle about the required number of courses for admissions (specifically about the writing courses). Well, since we were on the subject I asked her also about the labs required for biology...and she told me that applicants needed SIX quarters of lab!!! Is what she said true? I don't know about regular biology majors, but as a Biomedical Engineer I can hardly fit that into my schedule. Thanks for any constructive replies.

Members don't see this ad.

Mrxle3 said:
Hey guys. I just called UoP admissions and spoke to Janelle about the required number of courses for admissions (specifically about the writing courses). Well, since we were on the subject I asked her also about the labs required for biology...and she told me that applicants needed SIX quarters of lab!!! Is what she said true? I don't know about regular biology majors, but as a Biomedical Engineer I can hardly fit that into my schedule. Thanks for any constructive replies.

6 quarters of lab in biology alone?!?

Those are Janelle's exact words. Trust me my shock registered through the phone as well..please someone that has been admitted to pacific shed some light on this topic..

Members don't see this ad :)
I think that it is pretty clear on thier website...
http://dental.pacific.edu/admissions1/DDS/requirements.htm

Number of Required Courses: (Semesters or Quarters)
Biological Sciences with laboratory 4 or 6
Physics with laboratory 2 or 3
Inorganic Chemistry with laboratory 2 or 3
Organic Chemistry* 2 or 3

I read this as saying, you have to complete two years of bio classes and these clases should have labs.

So Bio 1 & 2 with labs
Two other bio classes with labs (I took a comparative anatomy course and Animal physio)

-C