Veterinary School Chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChelsD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys! Just a general question, Im super open to advice also!

I graduated from UCF with my Bachelors in Environmental Sciences/ Interdisciplinary studies so I have a pretty broad range of classes. I had a tough first two years so of course my gpa was suffering but it went up alot in my last two years (very very slowly, believe me im still mad at myself for my first two years of college). I ended with a 2.999 GPA. :( .Not great at all. i put off even thinking about Vet school because I had my son my junior year of college and I got very involved in being a zookeeper, but zookeepers jobs firstly do not pay well at all and they are hard to come by. Right now I work in the field of environmental sciences instead because of those two things.

I always wanted to become a vet. i have a great deal of animal experience from being a zookeeper for 3+ years but not alot of medical or veterinary related animal experience. I have experience in a wide variety of other fields too but that doesnt quite help me with this too much. I also do not have all prerequisites for the programs. I just picked a random program and looked at those prereqs to see what they were (UF) and plotted out what I would need.

So far I know I need:
The chemistry classes (I have chem 1 but didnt do so great so I would think taking it over would be the best bet). (So i need chem 1/2, Orgo 1/2)

I need the physics (1/2) classes

Calculus

Biochem classes

Genetics

microbio

Animal sciecnes and nutrition