Waitlist Experiences

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dpthopeful14788

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I was recently put on the waitlist at one of my top schools. While I am not totally losing hope, I am a bit discouraged. They said that they do not have any specific list, but instead will revisit all applicants on the waitlist when they hear back from students that they accepted. Does anyone have any experience with being waitlisted like this that can give me a transparent idea of what to expect? This is my first time applying so I really have no clue whether or not the chances of getting taken off is possible.

Thank you :)

Members don't see this ad.

I've been waitlisted by 4 schools last cycle, so I know the feeling. I would reach out the schools and see what can you improve on and be productive. You can only hope for the best and now it's in the hands of the school. I remembered feeling discouraged too, so I stayed active by volunteering virtually, retook the GRE and some classes as GPA boosters. Do what you can do so if worse comes to worse, then you'll be prepared for the next cycle.

Reactions: 3 users