Waitlisted. Apply for private or wait for next year or pursue medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hjian

Reaction score
I applied for MFT programs this year. Currently waitlisted for CSU Northridge and CSU Sacramento. Still waiting to hear back from four more MFT programs. I feel very demoralized for not having received acceptances.

I was a premed before choosing to go into mental health. I graduate with high honors, but was hesitant to go into medicine because of the amount of work and hours required (80hr weeks during residency). During my last year of college, I went through therapy and it allowed me to heal my emotional trauma. This was my intro into the mental health field and I considered becoming a therapist because I experienced the potential it has to do good for others. I worked as a medical assistant after graduating and decided to do mental health instead because I did not think I would be able to handle the amount of work on the medical path. My interaction with patients there only reinforced my decision. I had an overall positive impact on the patients and staff there as I was able to bring an energy of love and acceptance from healing myself. Some patients wanted to know what I would do and asked for my full name. One of the doctors was looking forward to getting my business card in the future because of her stress from the patient load.