Wal-Mart: Pharm Tech vs. Intern

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phrmboy123

Hi There
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I work as a pharm tech at the local walmart and we have to work behind the counter and OTC. But when I become an intern, does that change? Do I still have to do OTC? I talked to the pharm manager and he didnt know b/c he has never worked with an intern since hes been at Wal-Mart and the district manager didnt say anything yet. Does anyone else have any experience with walmart and the difference in duties as an intern and a pharm tech? Thanksss.

Members don't see this ad.

If u do a search on the wire you might be able to find out more about this. Also, it depends on the pharmacist you work with. If you work at a busy store, I'm sure they will need you behind the counter but If you work at a slow store, you will have to help out with OTC stuff.

I was a tech at Wal-Mart and became an intern there also. However, none of the pharmacists at my store are preceptors so I just do tech duties. Search under the WIRE for 'intern' and there shouldn be some training guides and job duties and descriptions. I remember one of the modules on the training was to learn OTC stuff (how to use a Gemini, comp shopping, etc.)

My store is way too busy for the pharmacy staff to do OTC stuff but on the rare chance that we have nothing to do, we go out and throw freight (even the pharmacist).

Members don't see this ad :)
yea the store i work at is realllllyyy slow. so bascially more time of mine is spent putting up stock rather than helping the pharmacists. oh well, at least the pay will be better right? maybe i should look into working at a different store where i can learn something other than how to price and place stuff on shelves.:)