WAMC '26 Application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kota1000

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a 18 y/o girl in Wisconsin, and I am applying to vet school in the next cycle. Im sure many of you know vet school applications for next cycle (class of 2026) open tomorrow (Yay!!), so I figured I would see if anyone has any recommendations for me as far as improving my applications. I will be applying to UW Madison (#1 school), UMN Twin Cities, Michigan State and RVC. It is my first cycle applying, so I am not familiar with the process, but I figured if I get an early start I should be able to perfect my applications. I am non-traditional in the sense that I am a freshman this year, so spring 2021 is my 2nd official college semester. After this semester I will have 63 credits, and I am planning on taking 9 credits in the summer to meet UW Madisons limit on in progress classes the year of applying. That said, I will be applying without a bachelors degree; I know a degree is recommended, but I feel like other aspects of my application are sufficient enough that I won't need it. I have worked hard to get where I am, and many of the veterinarians I work with think I have a good plan in place. Feel free to ask questions if you have any... now on to the technical stuff.

Cumulative GPA: 4.0
science GPA: 4.0
last 45: 4.0. (so far I have gotten a 4.0 in all classes)

Any degrees achieved: n/a

GRE results: I have yet to take the GRE, but am planning on taking it in March of spring break

Veterinary Experience:
1. 346 Hours as an Emergency Veterinary Assistant at a Small Animal Referral Center (small animals & exotics) - ongoing
2. 510 Hours at various small animal clinics working as a veterinary assistant - ongoing
3. 32 hour internship at a small animal clinic

Animal Experience:
1. 44 hours volunteering at a animal shelter
2. 688 hours working in a boarding facility