WAMC International 4.0/515 current MPH grad student at Yale

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
I am an MPH candidate at the Yale School of Public Health with a 4.0 undergraduate GPA from a leading public university in the US (B.S. Neuroscience with a minor in Society and Genetics). I have taken the MCAT 3 times (2x in 2020) and 1 time in 2024 and have consistently scored a 515 (w/ CARS bringing my score down each time even though I have managed to score 129-130 on practice tests). I will be a reapplicant this upcoming cycle and also classify as an international student and need advice regarding retaking the MCAT for a 4th time and/or acceptance chances. I have previously volunteered as an HIV linkage counselor, a crisis counselor and currently volunteer with the free student clinic at Yale. I have limited experience shadowing (but will be continuing this summer). I have worked full time for 1.5 years as a clinical research coordinator prior to starting grad school and have one 2nd author publication under my belt, 1 article under review, and 1 accepted abstract (currently working on the paper). Besides publications, I also have received 2 summer fellowships (one in undergrad and one in grad school). I also have multiple leadership and advocacy experiences under my belt mostly related to LGBTQ+ organizations and in student government (both undergraduate and graduate). My community activism efforts have centered on increasing access to healthcare for queer individuals and have taken shape in the form of volunteering at LGBTQ non-profit organizations, helping coordinate health camps/serving as patient navigators, and legislative activism via letter writing campaigns and lobbying.

I would appreciate any advice from anyone on the forum! I am also happy to answer questions and provide more information regarding hours engaging in extra curricular upon request!

Members don't see this ad.