WAMC/What should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vAbe's

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I am a non-trad applicant with the following credentials:

I graduated in 2018 from a decent state school with a chemistry major and economics minor. My first two years were God awful, making my BCPM cGPA and sGPA a 2.7 (multiple C's, D's. and F's). Same as with High School, I was very lost and did not attend my classes or pay any attention to school. Very much on me. Got my act together. I started attending classes, which led to a very noticeable upward trend, but I still really didn't know how to study. I decided on med school late in college. I did a biomedical science master's from a top 20 med school, ending with a 4.0. I have a couple thousand clinical hours working as a medical assistant, a couple of thousand research hours (multiple pubs with a few low impact first author, multiple presentations, multiple abstracts), and a couple hundred volunteering hours (both clinical and nonclinical). I got a 516 on the MCAT (I took it twice, and the first time, I got a 508). I applied for the first time this year to 30 MD programs and got 4 interviews. I am on 3 waitlists and waiting to hear from the last school. I feel like I applied broadly. A mistake was that I submitted my primary in early Aug and secondaries from mid Sept to late Oct. I had people involved with adcoms looking over everything I wrote and approving it. I worked full time while studying for the MCAT and applying.