Wanting to switch into dermatology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdconfuse

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an intern who matched into radiology. I am realizing that radiology is not going to be a good fit for me. I had an extremely competitive application for residency (AOA and very solid step 1) and am from a solid medical school.

I am hoping to switch into dermatology. I am coming here for advice for strategies in doing so. My questions are the following:

1. Is it extremely unlikely that I could find a PGY-2 spot for next year? If there were any openings, how would I go about finding them? Would you suggest emailing individual program directors to inquire about openings? If I did email them, should I include a CV with my emails?

2. If I did not find a PGY-2 spot for next year, could I enter the scramble this year and hopefully get a spot through the scramble, as it is already too late to enter this year's match process?

3. If numbers 1 and 2 are not options, what would you suggest doing next year while I reapply?

Thanks, all.

Members don't see this ad.

PGY-2 resident openings (very) occasionally happen. Residentswap.org might be a good place to look. The scramble is possible, but not likely.

Your best chance is to apply again, as a regular candidate, through the match. A year or two of research would help as well. The main question you'll be asked is how committed you are to the field.

Good luck.

Do most programs advertise their spots on residentswap? Is there a way around paying $80 to look at position openings? Also, would you suggest directly emailing programs about possible openings?

Members don't see this ad :)
actually, $80 is the least of your worries. Applying to derm is EXPENSIVE!! Money for apps and travel will run you thousands.