What age do surgical skills begin degrading?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdtt16

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Nontrad here considering podiatry. So far everything about podiatry seems awesome and tailor-made for my interests but my one concern is that it is a surgical specialty and I am an older student.

Not quite sure how to phrase the question correctly but here goes:

Will a career in podiatry be curtailed by degrading surgical skills?

Do most podiatrists give up performing surgery as they get older and stick to the medical issues of podiatry?

For those in practice for significant periods of time, is this even an issue and, if so, how old were/are you when you could no longer operate?

If I graduate, will potential employers be looking at me thinking of my short surgical lifespan?

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry, but that question borders on ridiculous. If you have an understanding of human physiology you'll understand there is no answer to your question. There are so many factors at play it's mind boggling. Every individual is different and I've seen incompetent surgeons who are 28 years of age and phenomenal surgeons in their late 70s and early 80s.

I see fat slobs who are 25 and marathon runners who are in their 80s and older.

Sorry, come up with a question that actually has an answer.

^Punch in the balls with your morning coffee? LOL

mdtt16, how old are you?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Sorry, but that question borders on ridiculous. If you have an understanding of human physiology you'll understand there is no answer to your question. There are so many factors at play it's mind boggling. Every individual is different and I've seen incompetent surgeons who are 28 years of age and phenomenal surgeons in their late 70s and early 80s.

I see fat slobs who are 25 and marathon runners who are in their 80s and older.