What are my chances? Please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Elle7077

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
This site has been such a comfort to me, as I don't know too many people personally going through the application process at the moment, and so I'm so happy to have discovered this!
I was wondering if I could get some feedback, what you guys think my chances of being accepted into at least one clinical psych program.
I went to an ivy league college, and had a science major and thus not the greatest GPA- 3.4. I took a bunch of psych courses and did pretty well in them. Throughout college I did research with a few different professors: the first summer i won an award to do research in a medical lab, and then after that i did mostly psych related research (but have not completed any theses). Since I graduated about a year ago, Ive been doing research and am in the process of conducting an independent study. I took the GRE twice- the first time got a 1360, and the second time, a month later, a 1470. My combined score is a 1510 (i know some schools look at ur 2 best scores so mine would be V: 740 M: 770). I know these are good scores and I'm not trying to sound show offy...I am just so nervous about my overall applicatione because it seems so many applicants have superior gpa's and more completed, published research. If you can offer any advice or words of comfort i would so appreciate it! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Here's the formula to get your chances:

(GPA*.1)+(GRE*.2)+(LOR quality*.3)+(Research exp*.4)

Just kidding :p Your app sounds competitive to me. That GPA isn't really that low and your GREs are great. Just make sure you apply to places where you have a strong research match! Research experience is great. Not all that many people who are applying have actual published work anyhow, so I wouldn't loose sleep over that.