What are my chances? (Switching from MD/DO to PA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mariaalej09

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I am new to this thread and I really want to know what my chances are before making a drastic decision. I recently was accepted to an MD program and waitlisted at a DO program. I currently work as an ED Scribe and have realized that maybe MD/DO is not for me. I have researched PA programs and have become very interested in the idea. I am trying to learn as much as possible about the application process to determine what my chances would be. Here's a quick summary of what I have done:

MD shadowing: 50 hours
Volunteer at Children's Hospital: 100 hours
Volunteer at non-profit clinic: 250 hours
Vice President of a club: 80 hours
Research Assistant (paid)(project 1): 280 hours
Research Assistant (paid)(project 2): 1250 hours (3 years)
Mentor (paid): 600 hours (3 years)

ED Scribe: 2080 hours (1 year full-time and currently employed here)
Algebra Tutor: ~20 hours (still employed here)

3.71 science gpa
3.76 non-science gpa

GRE: still haven't taken

I know some schools do not consider scribing a DIRECT patient experience, so I am considering getting my CNA license and volunteering ~2 nights/week at the non-profit clinic. Do you think this is necessary? Also, the hospital where I work has PAs that use scribes and I could ask to be scheduled with them more. Assuming I do well on the GRE, what are my chances looking like right now? In my personal statement I would write about my reasons for wanting to join the medical field and my reasons for applying to PA. I would include that I had an acceptance and decided that being a PA aligned better with my career and personal goals (family time, and really like the idea of switching specialities).

Thanks for your help! And sorry for the super long post.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys!