What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

docB

Chronically painful
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I saw that someone else was looking for the "top" EM residency so I thought I should see what people think about my chances. I'm a med student at a certain med school with various extracurricular activities and I have grades and board scores. I also either do or don't have some related experience. My question is what my chances would be at each of the EM residency programs out there and if anyone thinks the PD would either or both give me extra credit for my good points and/or forgive my weak points. I'm particularly interested in some programs based either on their geographic location or thier perceived presteige. What are my chances?

Members don't see this ad.

You dont even need to apply to know how good your chances are. In fact, speculating about your chances of landing a residency spot, combined with this forum, is the BEST way to determine the strength of your candidacy. From the info provided, looks like you will have a harder time landing a spot in the most competitive places, a slightly easier time in the middle of the pack, and a somewhat greater chance of landing a spot at less competitive programs. Keep in mind that even the less competitive places are still competitive, so you should probably speculate about how many places to apply to next.

LOL great thread.

Oh man, you're screwed. You will never match with stats like that. I'm aware of your certain medical school, but you will most defintely not be able to compete with graduates from the other certain medical school. Did you say you just have board scores? Well, they're not good enough - I know because I heard so. I think you had better work on your grades too. You will never get in the best program. ;)

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by NinerNiner999