DO What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sjcha

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a 2016 graduate and was looking at DO schools. My major was Exercise Science (5 years) and had a cGPA of 3.27 and sGPA of ~3.2. I am aware that this is low, but my GPA was about a 3.7 my last 2.5 years. I haven't taken the MCAT yet because I still need to take OChem, which I will be doing over the summer, starting next week. I am planning on taking Biochem I in the Fall as well. Realistically, I could probably raise my GPA to about a 3.3 if I get a 4.0 in these classes.

After I am finished with the OChem series, I plan on looking for a medical scribe position, while also shadowing a DO.

I was previously pre-PT, which is why you will see that I have PT experience.

ECs:

2 years: Young Generation Officer (Secretary) - Korean American Scientists and Engineers Association
1 year: Biomechanics TA
2 years: Secretary/Treasurer - Korean Student Association
1 year: Exercise Science Lab Assistant
2 years: English Tutor
3 years: Personal Assistant for a student with 3 traumatic brain injuries
1 year: Physical Therapy Aide (orthopedic outpatient clinic) ~1000 hours so far
1 year: Self-conducted research (Thesis: The effects of mild dehydration on muscular strength and tendon stiffness in college-aged students)
3 months: Physical Therapy intern (outpatient clinic)
1 day: Job shadow (PT) at The Ryan Center at Boston University

Please be as brutal and honest as you'd like. Any suggestions will be appreciated.
Thank you!

*******UPDATE:
I just finished an accelerated OChem series over the summer.
OChem I: A-
OChem II: B+
OChem II: A-

Unfortunately didn't get the 4.0 =(

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: