What can we do to help shut St. Chris down?

Discussion in 'Caribbean' started by Amit1, Dec 18, 2005.

1. Amit1

Amit1 Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/4410020.stm

Schools like this are a disgrace to mankind. In an effort to probe how corrupt these schools are, I called them as a prospective student. They assured me if I was a graduate from any US high school with a SAT above 1000 or ACT over 21 they could "guarantee me a spot in their medical school, provided I could pay the fees". In addition they asked if I knew anybody else who would like a degree - ANY degree "provided they could pay the fees".

They are sullying the reputation of the entire medical community and need to be dissolved as soon as possible. We should bear some responsibility if we are aware of such insults to our profession and choose to sit idly, rather than to take action.

2. At this point everything is just an allegation. Noone wants to see the students at St Chris lose their dreams. I hope it all works out

3. JO300

JO300 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I think any new school have to start somewhere. and as long as it's students pass USMLE I, II they will be doctors like anyone else.
    I always believe that being a good doctor depents on me more than my school, 60/40 ratio.

4. Skip Intro

Skip Intro Registered User
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    This could not possibly be farther from the truth. You may be able to sit and pass the Steps, but licensure (i.e., being able to legally call yourself "doctor") is wholly dependent on individual state licensure requirements. Before you're so cavalier with your statements, check the laws of the individual state in which you want to practice. Diplomas from certain schools are flat-out denied, no "ifs, ands, or buts", in many states.

-Skip

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. JO300

JO300 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member