What do I major in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cdcd67

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore in college and I decided that I wanted to do pharmacy, but I'm confused as to what to major in? I understand that it is too late to transfer out to a 0-6 year program...so in the meantime, should I just major in chemistry...get a bachelors...and then apply for pharmacy school? That would be about 8 years...

Members don't see this ad.

You can major in whatever you want as long as you complete the pre-requisites for the schools you're applying to.

I would suggest looking them up and seeing what overlaps with what major choices you have, maybe go see a counselor about it. If you don't care much about your bachelor's and just want to use it as a means to get into school, I could suggest you get a bio degree, as the pre-reqs will line up pretty nicely with the classes you take. I was a bio major partly for that reason, but I ended up liking it pretty well. :)

Well it depends on what pre-reqs you have already taken. When I first started out, all i had taken was chemistry. It seemed more difficult originally than I thought, though it's easier now for me. I started taking bio courses and aced those. Biology isn't necessarily easier to me, but I actually enjoy the studying. It's real life stuff. Just my two cents. Once you start taking the pre-req's, you'll figure it out for yourself. much luck friend. :cool:

Members don't see this ad :)
I think chemistry is good for pharmacy major. You will have to understand and be comfortable with difficult structure of the drugs. Biology is better for pre-med students. I personally do not like biology. I took microbiology and It was a hardest course I have ever taken so far.

I would suggest you major in something you are interested in. That way if Pharmacy doesn't work out, you have a back up plan to fall back on.