What do you think about this essay?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Near

Kung Fu Senior Member
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
It's for a scholarship. Recommended amount is 200 words, and I'm already around that. The topic is "Tell us what makes you a good college student?".

"In my opinion, there's one main reason I'm a good college student: Motivation. I have a desire to become a dentist one day, and I'm determined to excel in what it takes to accomplish that dream. In my life, I've found that an honest investment in determination and preparation has far more dividends than natural intelligence alone. For example, as a duel enrollment student at 15, I was able to hone my study and time management schools at the collegiate level. This eased the transition from high school to college significantly, and I'm grateful to have had the opportunity to duel enroll.

The act of simply having a goal in mind is also very advantageous. It's one of the many, if not one of the more compelling reasons to maintain and produce excellent studying habits, meaningful relationships with peers and professors, and competitive grades. In my opinion, a goal is the difference between average and exceptional. Thomas Edison once said, "Genius is one per cent inspiration, ninety-nine per cent perspiration". I think that quote applies to many aspects of life, especially to me, as a college student. I just know I'll be looking forward to sweating on the road to becoming a dentist."

I feel like I've been posting too many threads in this section. :(

Thanks guys.

Members don't see this ad.