What does a 270/280 really get you ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheAberrantGene

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Before you start out judging me and posting nasty comments.. take some time to read this through.. i have good reasons to be posting this

I am an IMG from a developing country. I worked my ass off in college. I was always amongst the top 5-10 in my university out of around 1000 med students. Ever since i was a kid i ALWAYS wanted to be a Neurosurgeon.. its not about the money or the fame or whatever else such a job gets.. its just something i wanna do.. i really want to be a neurosurgeon. I worked as a junior resident for 3 years in my home country and have 13 first authored papers in PM indexed journals and a book chapter. Co-authors american surgeons. Now i wanted to ask a simple question:
How much pull would a 270/280 have ? is it possible for someone with a double 270 to not match ?

P.S. : I am already scoring high 260s since 4-5 months and think pushing through 270 is doable.

Genuine responses would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

With double 270s and your research experience, you'd probably match. It may not be the best program in the country but someone will take you as long as your interview skills and rest of the application is adequate.

IMO in these kind of specialties it's all about who vouches for you as far as IMG's are concerned.. People with step 1 of 210 are accepted into ENT/PRS/NEUROSURG etc etc.. Work more on the people who can ''push'' you forward and spend less energy struggling between 260 vs 280 or w/e..

Last edited:
Reactions: 3 users
Anything above 250 just gives you bragging rights since there are thing on your application which also matters a lot.
Step score is just one of the criteria.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)