What does applying disadvantaged actually do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Global Warming

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What does that ACTUALLY mean to ADCOMs reading the application?

Thanks for input!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
what do you mean authentic? what was your disadvantage? disability? health? family responsibility? financial?

what do you mean authentic? what was your disadvantage? disability? health? family responsibility? financial?

Socioeconomic.

The reason I even brought up the issue of authenticity is because ppl often criticize others for overdramatizing their issues. In retrospect....it was insignificant to even add in the element of authenticity. I was just wondering...what does it actually do if you were an ADCOM member?

Do you give the applicant a second-look when you would have otherwise discarded it? I have no concrete knowledge of this...so I wanted to get some of your opinions.

Members don't see this ad :)
What does it do?

Sometimes it annoys us. If the reasons given seem exaggerated or overhyped it can make us think less of an applicant. (e.g. claiming that being a woman and an ethnic minority is a "double disadvantage" )

Some schools are seeking to enroll students who have come up from modest circumstances and so the "disadvantaged" toggle can help in that regard.

Proceed with caution.

What does it do?

Sometimes it annoys us. If the reasons given seem exaggerated or overhyped it can make us think less of an applicant. (e.g. claiming that being a woman and an ethnic minority is a "double disadvantage" )

Some schools are seeking to enroll students who have come up from modest circumstances and so the "disadvantaged" toggle can help in that regard.

Proceed with caution.

What about experiencing life threatening injury in undergrad? Like say a DVT in your arm and pulmonary embolism that left you with permanent injury?