What is considered "a small stipend?"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kylek044

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
For the NHSC, they say that they offer a "small stipend." What exactly does this mean in terms of numbers?

Members don't see this ad.

You've probably found this info out already, since you posted a few days ago, but the stipend is about $1200 before taxes, and I think it's just during the academic year.

You've probably found this info out already, since you posted a few days ago, but the stipend is about $1200 before taxes, and I think it's just during the academic year.

Well, if your program is year round, like mine (PA program)...that is not a bad deal! Better then trying to make measly FA payments stretch over 6 months...;)

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a third year student and on the program. You actually get the stipend ALL year (12 months baby) and its about $1140 right now. Plus you get what they call "other reasonable expenses" paid once a year. I think its about $2000 additional, it changes with re to your year in school. That's in addition to your month stipends of course.

I'm a third year student and on the program. You actually get the stipend ALL year (12 months baby) and its about $1140 right now. Plus you get what they call "other reasonable expenses" paid once a year. I think its about $2000 additional, it changes with re to your year in school. That's in addition to your month stipends of course.

I'm a fourth year (well, graduated now) and I was getting $1182 this fiscal year. They seem to go up every year by about $30 or so dollars in October. I wonder why you're getting less? Maybe it depends on the year you get it? That's interesting, I assumed we all got the same.