What is inpatient hematology/oncology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jason110

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a 4th year medical student. For my 4th year acting internship, I got assigned to the Inpatient Hematology/Oncology service, and will be starting in a month or so. I'm still unsure what exactly "inpatient heme/onc" is and have been unable to find it online.

What sort of pathology should I expect to see on this service? Solid organ tumors ? Myelodysplasia? Leukemia/Lymphoma?

I want to know because I'd like to (and maybe need to) do some reading up on the topic before starting.

Thanks.

Jason

Members don't see this ad.

The pathology to expect depends on what your program does. In general, if you have a BMT service, you'll see a lot of transplant patients, both during the txplant and the inevitable disasters afterwards. (Here's a fun fact, BMT patients who get intubated have a 3% 30-day survival...whip that one out on rounds for a good time.)

You'll also see a bunch of acute leukemics and blast crises (although depending on your program, a lot of these may initially go to the ICU) there for induction chemo. You'll also see a ton of neutropenic fevers and chemo complications like dehydration. Most solid-tumor chemo is done as an outpt these days but there are still a few continuous infusion regimens that need to be done in-house so you'll see some of them.