What scores needed for UVA med

rualai

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN, this is my first post! I'm currently a high school senior seriously considering pre-med in college (obviously haha).

BACKGROUND
(Btw I'm a Va resident)
So my parents really want me to go to George Mason University for undergrad rather than Virginia Tech and to be honest I think I'd prefer GMU over VT. I've already been accepted early action to GMU and think I will get accepted into their honors college (have 6 AP classes with As in 5 of them, a 33 ACT composite, and a darn good essay)

QUESTION
The thing is, around here (NoVa) GMU doesn't have a very good academic reputation. I don't care about the stigmas or anything but if I were to go to GMU and major in physics (pretty good pre-med major there) or Neuroscience what GPA (science and cumulative), MCAT score, and volunteer/intern/shadowing/research hours would I need to get into UVAs medical school. I'm not too concerned with "school A vs B's reputation" issue just mainly the scores needed for UVA med.

Quick look at the Physics major for GMU, I'd have an emphasis in Medical Physics.

Physics B.S major
http://gmu.m.acalog.com/#programdetails1
Emphasis in medical physics
http://gmu.m.acalog.com/#programdetails5

FYI
GMU is right next to the INOVA Hospital (which is pretty good). And let's assume I can write a pretty decent essay with good LORs. Reason I'm interested in UVAs med school is that it's relatively close to where I live and is somewhat cheaper for ISS.

P.S.
And yes I know the best I can achieve is always better than the minimum, I just want to be prepared for what I'm going to be getting myself into.

Members don't see this ad.