What should I do? Do I have any better options?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

the Undergrad

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Well I'm technically a sophomore at a community college at the moment. I graduated from hs in 2001 and I had initially planned to transfer to UCLA by their winter 2004. And, believe me, I worked hard toward reaching that goal(of transfering to UCLA) and now I'm pretty much done with 60 units(yes, you need atlease 60 units to transfer). However, much to my dismay, I recently found out UCLA closed its Winter 2004 quarter to all the transfer applicants(apparently UCLA, UCB, and UCSD). Well that means that now Ill have to wait till November of THIS year to apply for their Fall 2004 quarter. And this is where the problem takes off. Applying in THIS november means It will take me five years, instead of four, to complete my undergrad studies(a Bio/Psych major, btw...eventually wanna go to med school).

On the positive side, the only bright side I see in staying another year at this community college is that Ill finish my hardcore lower div sci courses at a much cheaper price/unit and with small classses, as compared to uni.

Hence, some questions I hope some kind souls out there REPLY to(duh, many many ppl VIEW it but few are kind enough to reply..haha, j/k). Anyways, here goes:

-Should I forget about going for UCLA and apply to other UCs(w/the exception of Cal and SD as they are ALSO closed) for Winter 2004?

-Would it make a bad impression on the med school committee if they see I spent three years at a community college? Are my science courses taken at CC going to be looked upon as "easy" compared to the same course at a university? (REALLY IMP. Question)

(IF i stay at the CC, that would mean me completing almost all my lower div science courses at the community college.)