What to do for the next four months?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peony

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. Long story, but I'm unexpectedly without a job or classes this semester, and I'm trying to figure out what to do with the next four months. I volunteer at a hospital a few hours a week (and love it!), but I really need something additional that's interesting and fullfilling to do as well. I've contacted a bunch of professors to see if I can work in their labs, but none of them seem to have space (I guess it's too late in the year). I've already done a substantial amount of shadowing (although it was all in pediatrics, which is the field I want to go into--not sure if that matters).

Anyway, if you have any suggestions for something else to do, that would be wonderful! I'm not taking the MCAT for about a year, although I am studying a bit for that too. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys. Long story, but I'm unexpectedly without a job or classes this semester, and I'm trying to figure out what to do with the next four months. I volunteer at a hospital a few hours a week (and love it!), but I really need something additional that's interesting and fullfilling to do as well. I've contacted a bunch of professors to see if I can work in their labs, but none of them seem to have space (I guess it's too late in the year). I've already done a substantial amount of shadowing (although it was all in pediatrics, which is the field I want to go into--not sure if that matters).

Anyway, if you have any suggestions for something else to do, that would be wonderful! I'm not taking the MCAT for about a year, although I am studying a bit for that too. Thanks!