What to review for hospital rotation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

camjames

camjames
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I know this may seem like a stupid question, but I am a 4th year pharmacy student about to begin my first hospital rotation. I have been brushing up on some pharmacokinetics and antimicrobials. What else should I review that is not regularly used in the retail setting? How far into detail should I know the pharmacokinetics equations? Thanks.

Cam

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I know this may seem like a stupid question, but I am a 4th year pharmacy student about to begin my first hospital rotation. I have been brushing up on some pharmacokinetics and antimicrobials. What else should I review that is not regularly used in the retail setting? How far into detail should I know the pharmacokinetics equations? Thanks.

Cam
Depends on if its a specialty rotation. But if its just general medicine I would know ID, electrolytes, and common cardiac drugs

And know how to read labs

Depends on if its a specialty rotation. But if its just general medicine I would know ID, electrolytes, and common cardiac drugs

And know how to read labs

And maybe brush up on IV meds.

Members don't see this ad :)
Is it an "institutional" rotation or "internal medicine"?

If it is institutional in the beginning you'll probably be doing order entry/delivery/IV and then they would move you into looking at cases, farming/soaping them out and then maybe some rounding.

Internal medicine, you're gonna be doing a lot of cases, drug information consults, rounding.

Also depends on what your preceptor specializes in. I had one hospital rotation where the woman did a 2nd year residency that pretty much focused on nutritional support and metabolism. Totally didn't expect to get a straight month of that type of stuff on a rotation marked "internal medicine."

Hi all,