What tools help improve RC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

topher67

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody. I took a Kaplan practice test yesterday and my scores were.....
Bio 19
GC 21
OC 19
PAT 28 - I only missed two :)
RC 17 :(
QR 22

A little back ground info, I studied for the DAT last summer for 6 weeks and decided I was not ready to take the test. So now I am studying over the Christmas break to prepare for my test on January 21st 2014. I have taken several Kaplan test and my reading scores are constantly around a 17/18. Now from taking Analytical chem, Bio chem, and Spanish last semester my reading speed has dramatically improved. I finished the science section with 34.23 min left, Pat with 22.16 min left, and RC with 8 min left. So my timing is not an issue.

I have all the Kaplan materials books/online, DAT destroyer, Top score Pro test, Chad videos, and Cilff Bio notes. What did tools did you all use to improve your reading accuracy?

Also I feel like Top score Pro test are more difficult than Kaplan tests. Which test is more similar to the real DAT?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Have you tried DATBootcamp? I felt every single thing in those practice exams were representative.

I personally had taken my DAT before RC practice was up, but I think since I had such a great experience with the Chems, Bio, and Math, RC would be good too!

If timing wasn't an issue, you're definitely on the right track! Barron dat prep book has a lot of passages, try timing yourself when you practice them, if you have time go over all the passages. The more you practice the better you will get and you'll figure out quickly of your strong points and your own way of acing the RC, some ppl read the entire passage before looking at the questions, some read questions first, best of luck!