what's the difference between MD & DO EM residencies?

Discussion in 'Emergency Medicine' started by ribsandbbqbeef, Apr 1, 2004.

1. ribsandbbqbeef

7+ Year Member

what's the difference between MD & DO EM residencies?

Is manipulation therapy incoporated into DO residencies?

If they are essentially the same, why the distinction?

I'm an MD student & know nothing about DO programs; just curious...

Thanks for any info.

2. YoungFaithful

YoungFaithful Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

You may get a few replies here but this topic has been talked about quite a bit. You might want to click the FAQ thread above. I think it addresses this issue nicely. :D

3. ribsandbbqbeef

7+ Year Member

sweet. Thanks for the heads up.

4. ribsandbbqbeef

7+ Year Member

Just went to the EM FAQ thread. It's a long discussion of how to apply to residency, ranking, 3 vs 4 yr programs.

However I didn't see any info on the difference between MD & DO EM programs. Anyone care to shed some light?

Thanks.

5. Dr. Cowboy

Dr. Cowboy Member
    7+ Year Member

I have only been exposed to one DO EM program but, everything seems pretty much the same. DOs are allowed to enter MD residencies, the opposite is not true.

6. Freeeedom!

Freeeedom! Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Touchy subject...

Overall, this is a political question as DO residencies exist based upon 1. tradition 2. AOA refusal to commit to widespread dual accreditation of ACGME residencies...therefore creating a "need" for Osteopathic residencies.

This is not going to make me popular...and I love being a DO...but if the same ACGME/ABEM rules were applied to AOA EM residencies...they would lose accreditation.

The AOA has a long tradition of "eating its young" and protecting its own interests. There would be no need for seperate DO EM residencies if dual accreditation would be accepted by the AOA.

I have written only just a bit, but I feel AT Still looking down at me...gotta go.

7. edinOH

edinOH Can I get a work excuse?