When did you start prepping for the MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bella_dottoressa

make it happen
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just curious as to when all of you started studying for the MCAT at any level...anyone start outrageously early, because I'm thinking about it...like maybe studying the general chem and bio stuff this summer (will be summer after my frosh year) since I'll have taken those sequences already....sound crazy? :)

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't say crazy but a bit premature i think...i studied with Kaplan for a month and did ok. Kaplan or PR will teach you everything you need to know...i hadn't even taken second semester physics or any pysiology or anatomy courses until studying for MCAT but picked it up in Kaplan....

Wow, I admire your ambition. I would try to get some organic and physics under your belt before you beging prepping. The sciences are intermingled on the MCAT. A passage (on the physical section) may have basic and organic chem, as well as some physics. Its hard to only pull out "chem" or "bio" Q's.

In retrospect, I consider all of undergrad to be MCAT prep (especially learning how to read technical passages). My serious studying was dedicated to learning the format of the test, not learning the test material.

Good luck,

Isid

Members don't see this ad :)
I took a Kaplan class that started in January - I took the MCAT in April. Now I teach for them, and most people who take the class take the 2nd semester one, but a few take the full year. I think it depends on your schedule, and if you'd rather study intermitently as you go, or concentrate/cram before the test.

I would wait till after you take organic chemistry. The reason why is that organic chemistry really helps you to understand general chemistry much better.