when does residency actually start

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DOFOSHO

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Orientation isn't unofficial. You'll be overwhelmed by the official-ness of it. :p And yes, orientation is usually 1 week (more or less), before the posted start date of residency. I believe my own residency orientation started June 20, and my first day as an intern was June 28. If you are back and settled in by June 12 you should be fine. If you are back and will still need to move and get your life together over the next couple of weeks, you may want to reconsider.

Reactions: 1 users
It really varies from program to program. When I graduated, my friends started anywhere from June 5 to one I know who started on July 1. The most common dates were the Monday 1 or 2 weeks before July 1, but there were outliers.

In my program, our interns start work on ~June 23, and orientation (which is absolutely required) on ~June 16. Our peds program starts orientation a week earlier, ~June 9.

Reactions: 1 user
Agree that it varies. My TY orientation started June 13, but my advanced program's orientation (which was the same date for the vast majority of categorical residents as well) was June 26. I think a few surgical program started orientation a few days before that.

The odds are in favor that if you're back by June 12 you will be ok. But it's entirely possible that your program could start sooner.

You can always call programs and ask when their orientation typically starts--they might think it's a little weird to ask so early considering most interviews haven't been handed out, but if it's that important to you... Or just make sure you buy refundable tickets if you're flying somewhere.