Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

When should I get recommendations?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by JulianCrane, Apr 16, 2002.

1. JulianCrane

JulianCrane The Power of Intention

Well, what's the answer? I am a sophomore and I have 2 science people in mind that could write me strong letters of recommendation. When should I ask them -- now, or near the end of junior year? Just trying to keep on the ball.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. oldman

oldman Senior Citizen
    Gold Donor

Attending Physician
    i asked for my letters right before christmas break. that way they can write them over the vacation period. also between now (sophomore) and then, i'd email them periodically or at least say hi to them when you see them. that way you stay fresh in their mind.

4. Doctora Foxy

Medical Student
    I think keep in touch with them and ask them next school year. It might look betetr to have a more recent date on it when you apply, and you can build your relationship with your profs by visiting them during office hours to say hi or something. For better advice, I'd ask your premed advisor, who will probably be collecting your LORs. I know if I got mine in that early, they would not be ready for them.

5. souljah1

souljah1 Attending

The importance aspect of asking is not when, but who. If you can get two very good letters written for you after your sophomore year, ask them to write them. It is very important that the letter writer convey that they know more about you than what grade you got in their class or the name of your research project. Letters that describe favorable aspects of your personality/humor/demeanor/aptitude/etc are the best letters. If you feel those two professors can write a letter of this kind, ask them at a time when it provides them with ample time.