hs2013

7+ Year Member
Dec 2, 2010
Status
First of all, as far as what goes on your application, is this pretty much all that's important?
Good GPA
Good DAT
Good LOR's
Shadowing hours
Volunteering hours

Is there really anything else that goes on a dental school application or anything else that I need to do?

Then to my main question, when should I start volunteering and shadowing a dentist? I am currently a freshman in college and will soon be starting my second semester.

paymaant

5+ Year Member
Mar 28, 2011
Washington DC
Status
Pre-Dental
First of all, as far as what goes on your application, is this pretty much all that's important?
Good GPA
Good DAT
Good LOR's
Shadowing hours
Volunteering hours

Is there really anything else that goes on a dental school application or anything else that I need to do?

Then to my main question, when should I start volunteering and shadowing a dentist? I am currently a freshman in college and will soon be starting my second semester.
Don't forget about your personal statement! I would start whenever you feel comfortable. As long as you have at least 75 hours shadowing by the time you apply. Volunteering should be more long term so the sooner you start, the better!

jeffity

7+ Year Member
Oct 23, 2009
Status
Dentist