When Should I Take The DATs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EyeAmCommi

Los Angeles Smog
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

This is my second post so I am kind of new to this. :)

So my main concern is when to take the DATs. Should I take them before I apply or after I send in the applications? I know some schools refuse to look at an application before they receive the DAT scores but which schools do you think do that?

I am planning to apply early on June 1st but the Kaplan DAT courses are offered twice in 2005. One in April-May and one in July-August. I want to take the July-Aug one so I have all summer to focus on it but am afraid that will basicly mean that I am applying late.

When should I take my DAT Kaplan course?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

EyeAmCommi said:
Hi,

So my main concern is when to take the DATs. Should I take them before I apply or after I send in the applications? I know some schools refuse to look at an application before they receive the DAT scores but which schools do you think do that?

I am planning to apply early on June 1st but the Kaplan DAT courses are offered twice in 2005. One in April-May and one in July-August. I want to take the July-Aug one so I have all summer to focus on it but am afraid that will basicly mean that I am applying late.

Thanks

I would take the course July-August. I believe Kaplan encourages people to take the test at the most 3 weeks after the class, this way you take the test late August. Also, this way you are not cutting into Spring classes if you take the class in April-May. If you apply early in June and take the DAT by late August, you still have a great chance. I applied early June and took the DAT middle of Sept. and it worked out just fine... I got accepted to 4 very good schools. Good luck!

EyeAmCommi said:
Hi,

Thanks