Jan 2, 2010
Reality, or so i think.
Status
hi people of SDN, i am currently in my second year of college, fourth semester. i plan to apply to medical school on my third year so then if i get in it would be my 5th year. should i start to study for the MCAT now?

May 27, 2009
Status
Medical Student
Some people find it useful to take it right after their sophomore year, when most complete their pre-reqs. Others take it during their junior year after they've taken some upper-level classes or for whatever reason. And then many take it towards the end of their junior year or that summer as they submit their primary applications. It really depends on you and when you feel most prepared. Remember to only take the MCAT when you feel ready.

Also take into consideration how long it'll take you to prepare. A couple of months usually does it for most. Others require longer, and few can somehow throw it together at the last minute.

OP
Cleavername
Jan 2, 2010
Reality, or so i think.
Status
Some people find it useful to take it right after their sophomore year, when most complete their pre-reqs. Others take it during their junior year after they've taken some upper-level classes or for whatever reason. And then many take it towards the end of their junior year or that summer as they submit their primary applications. It really depends on you and when you feel most prepared. Remember to only take the MCAT when you feel ready.

Also take into consideration how long it'll take you to prepare. A couple of months usually does it for most. Others require longer, and few can somehow throw it together at the last minute.
it takes 1 month or 2 for scores to come out right?

if thats the case then i prob should start now, 1 year from now i can take the mcat and have the score ready for june.

May 27, 2009
Status
Medical Student
it takes 1 month or 2 for scores to come out right?