Where am I going to do my core rotations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Newhorizons21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a second year med student who is currently helping a few people in their application process. One of the things that I never considered in my decision making process when I applied was that many schools send you to affiliated hospitals in different cities for some of your required rotations. I'm an older non-traditional student and when I found out at interviews that some schools assign locations by lottery with no exceptions (Penn State for example) they completely fell off my list. Does anyone know of/have a solid list of where schools send people for rotations (also is it on the MSAR)?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I'm a second year med student who is currently helping a few people in their application process. One of the things that I never considered in my decision making process when I applied was that many schools send you to affiliated hospitals in different cities for some of your required rotations. I'm an older non-traditional student and when I found out at interviews that some schools assign locations by lottery with no exceptions (Penn State for example) they completely fell off my list. Does anyone know of/have a solid list of where schools send people for rotations (also is it on the MSAR)?
This information is so specific that it's hard to find without contacting schools directly. Most have a list of where you can end up, without details of how things are assigned.

Reactions: 1 users
This information is so specific that it's hard to find without contacting schools directly. Most have a list of where you can end up, without details of how things are assigned.