Where do I stand so far?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AnatomyGuy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a 26M non-traditional student and I'm planning on applying for the matriculating class of 2013. I just wanted to throw some of my credentials out there to all of you gurus of admissions to see where I stand so far. I'll just do it in list form and explain some details after.

undergrad
graduated 2008 3.76 GPA ~3.4 science
full academic scholarship all 4 years
1 year of molecular biology research on apoptosis
awarded for research posters in state conferences
4 years of club lacrosse where I was an officer
tutoring
Internships with PA dept of agriculture in plant pathology (did a lot of ELISA's)

graduate
graduated 2010 with MS in anatomy, 3.08 GPA***
research in induced pluripotent stem cells for thesis
1 publication in an anesthesiology journal
Graduate teaching assistant to medical students in gross anatomy 2 years

Currently
working as a technician in a local inner city emergency room >1 year (Equal DO/MD exposure)
studying for MCATs, and will take them May 19th
avid runner (2 marathons), biker, outdoorsman
volunteer at local homeless shelters when able

So, to explain the drop in GPA from undergrad to grad, all I can really say is that there was a pretty large family crisis at the time when I first started graduate school. I originally started out as a PhD candidate but was asked to leave due to poor performance. After talking with several program directors (basically begging for another chance) they agreed to allow me to stay as a master's student, but I would lose all tuition assistance and stipends, understandably. I was given the opportunity to take all of my courses over again, which I mostly overcame and conquered. The problem was that the grades were averaged, accounting for the pretty low GPA.