Where should I go from here?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medicinewoman85

Thats what she says
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been very hesitant about posting my personal situation because I don't want any negative feedback. I am trying to figure out everything that I need to get done in order to fulfill my dream of becoming a docto:love:r.

Just to give some background info, I am 27 and I recently quit my job of 7 years so that I can pursue this dream. My main reasons were that I attempted to go to school full time and work full time, which was a disaster as my GPA took a real hit:scared:. I'm starting my pre reqs this fall so my question is what do I need to do next (other than get my GPA up and ace the mcat). Since I am a non traditional student is it necessary that I volunteer, join a club, and shadow a doctor? :eek: I have 2 kids so I am trying to figure out how can I balance my family and school and preparing to apply to medical school.

I did work in law enforcement for several years and as a result I had the opportunity to work very closely with doctors and nurses (I worked in the medical unit of a jail and a trauma 1 hospital) So my question is do I need to gain further clinical experience in a different setting? Is it necessary to shadow a doctor even though I have been exposed to exactly what they do in a clinical setting? Sorry if my post is all over the place but I am just trying to get a clear understanding of what I need to do for my situation. Thanks in advance for any help.

Members don't see this ad.