Where to go from here?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NowakEMT2MD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'd like to give you a little background about my situation:

I'm a second semester junior. My major is economic crime investigation with a focus in computer security and information assurance. My current GPA is 3.73.

Prior to my academics at the 4 year institution I attended a community college. My GPA was 3.5 overall there.

After I complete my bachelor's degree I plan on transferring to another school to take the required science courses for med schools (I have no bio/physics/chem courses). The school I wish to transfer into has no post-bachelor program so I will have to take the science courses individually.

I'm currently a certified EMT Intermediate (was paid at one point, still volunteer). As an EMT-I I have intubated patients, administered IVs and even delivered a baby (though my certification is expiring).

I am currently a volunteer firefighter (and EMT-I at the department).

I belong to the economic crime investigation club, astronomy club and S.A.D.D club (students against destructive decisions).

I've picked up a MCAT review book just to get a feel for what the sciences are going to be like since I have no experience in them.

I have a few questions:

Am I headed on the right path?

Since I have several years before even applying to med school what can I do to improve/prepare myself?

Is it a good idea to even be looking at the MCAT book? Is there a better way to prepare myself for the sciences even before taking the actual college courses?

I'm a bit concerned about where I'll be able to get LORs from and if I'll ever be able to participate in research because I'm not going to be in a pre-med program. Any advice?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.